• Title: The Ragworts Chronicles – The Reunion
  • Amazon Author Page: Belinda Miller
  • Print Length:  126 Pages
  • Publisher: Winterfrost Publishing
  • Publication Date: November 2017
  • Sold By: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 099786267X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0997862676
  • Package Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Formats: Paperback Note: Not eligible for Amazon Prime.
  • Genres: Children’s literature, Children’s fantasy (ages 6 – 10)

*I was given an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book by the publisher for review purposes in exchange for an honest review which follows.*


The Reunion, the final book of The Ragwort Chronicles, is the conclusion of the story, The Ragworts of Brokenfell, and the beginning of a new adventure for the Ragworts of Twistedoak! Is Rilefor a wizard or an alchemist? You decide.

Join the eldest Ragwort brother, Rilefor, as he travels to Bandersnatch Swamp to find the one magic ingredient for an elixir to help the gnomes of Twistedoak reverse the curse of the dreaded Red Witch. Join Rilefor Ragwort as he and his faithful helpers, the tree-imps, and the owl, SilverSnow, outsmart goblins and mold-trolls as they attempt to find the missing piece of the puzzle to make the magic potion work.

Meet Lucia, the Light Fairy, and read her heart-breaking tale about Lora, Witch of the Dark Forest. Fantastical creatures to love and loathe, bring this exciting trilogy to its end – and to the beginning of “Phillip’s Quest.”

Find all the books on Winterfrost Publishing and at your favorite online bookstore.


The Reunion is the final book in the Ragwort Chronicles and introduces the reader to a new adventure called the Ragworts of Twistedoak. It is a delightful tale featuring Rilefor Ragwort, a gentle gnome who spends most of the cold winter looking for animals he can help. Be it with food or tending the animals caught in storms, Rilefor is the medicine man or healer of the woods. Rilefor’s mother, Nonna, taught him her healing ways when he was but a child-gnome. One valuable lesson was to never eat the Red Witch’s spotted mushrooms.

The gnome lives at the edge of the Dark Forest which is protected by the fairies, sprites, and the tree goddess, Laurelea. Part of his duties required him to be the caretaker of these woods which caused some to call him the Wizard of the Woods. For years, Rilefor grew and studied mushrooms trying to figure out how the Red Witch had enchanted the spotted fungi. His research would soon pay off.

The adventure begins during Rilefor’s favorite time of the year – Spring. When a ruffle of butterflies appears with the Queen of the Butterflies, Farfal, in tow; she asks Rilefor to find a way to destroy the red mushrooms. The Red Witch and her hoards have overrun Twistedoak with the poisonous red mushrooms.

The gnomes need Rilefor’s help if they are to survive a war with the Red Witch. It’s up to Rilefor to develop a potion, but that requires a trip to Bandersnatch Swamp to find the missing ingredients. Rilefor is tested even though his magic is strong. If he survives the battle between good and evil, it will be a miracle!

I loved this story. I know it’s geared toward younger readers, but it was a fantastic step back in time where I could embrace my love of fairies, gnomes, and magic like I did as a child. I was in reading heaven!

The illustrations are excellent, and I can only imagine a child’s joy at seeing the characters come to life before their eyes. This series would be a unique gift for that special child or the grandchildren in your life. Most importantly, the stories aren’t written just for girls. The author added the right amount of farts and burps to delight all children which will have them dissolved into laughter in seconds.

If you are looking for an unforgettable gift for the upcoming holiday season, this would be on my list. I loved and enjoyed this story so much that I’ve added it to my ME TIME category for children’s literature. I guess Grandma’s know what they like. ❤

Here is a brief description and link to the first two books in the series. Enjoy!

The Ragwort Chronicles Book I: The Beginning

“Meet Poppa Ragwort!  A Master Carpenter in the Village of Brokenfell, not far from Twistedoak. He loved to puff on his pipe while sitting in his favorite spot, the hand of an ancient warrior dwarf statue and carving toys for the children or observing the hustle and bustle of the village below. This is the first of three books about the Ragwort family of gnomes who befriended Phillip and Ivy Tuber, on their way to the Farmer’s Market in Phillip’s Quest, Book I: Winterfrost.

The Ragwort Chronicles Book II: Along The Way

 2016 Finalist in the Next Generation Book Awards for Children’s Picture Book, ages 6-10 and Overall Book Design and Layout

“There was a line of pines that bordered the stream but were far back enough to provide cover for the watching eyes. This time, they were not the eyes of the friendly little tree imp. Three dark shadows were slinking behind the trees and following Roscoe. Although they were just shadows, they had luminous yellow eyes, like cat’s eyes, glowing in the dark.”


Character Believability: 5
Flow and Pace: 5
Reader Engagement: 5
Reader Enrichment: 5
Reader Enjoyment: 5
Overall Rate: 5 out of 5 Fairies

trans 5 fairies


Author, Belinda Miller

About the Author

Although a native New Yorker, author Belinda Miller, now makes her home with her husband and two cats, in Manassas, Virginia. A Master’s Degree in Education and a Bachelor’s in Literature and the Language Arts fueled her love for writing and literature, especially children’s literature.

Belinda taught developmental reading in the late 1970s, in an economically and culturally diverse school district in Leavenworth, Kansas. The district had few books suitable for that demographic, so she wrote and adapted the curriculum based on the literature she loved.

After leaving Kansas, Miller entered the corporate world. She retired in 1998, due to a debilitating fall which affected the progression of her FSH Muscular Dystrophy. In 2013, while recuperating from a broken back, Mrs. Miller started writing the Phillip’s Quest series, inspired by the illustrations of Dean Kuhta, and his desire to put his drawings into words.

With the help and constant support of her husband Gary, the love of her family, friends, and the drawings of her talented illustrators, Belinda has rekindled her love of writing and children’s literature. She has also developed a children’s jewelry line based on Phillip’s Quest and the Ragwort series.

To enjoy samples of her books, a short-story, and crafts for kids, please visit her website at http://www.theworldofwinterfrost.com and https://m.facebook.com/WinterfrostCastle/

How to Connect with the Author

website: https://belindamiller.me/  Winterfrost Publishing

FB page: https://www.facebook.com/WinterfrostCastle/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bella772013/?hl=en

Twitter: @bella772013

Enter your email here to receive the Gnome Gnews-Letter!

Find Belinda’s books on Amazon

Unicorn Fairies approve of this book! ❤