Title: Oathbreakers’ Guild, The Rose Shield, Book II

Amazon Author Page: D. Wallace Peach

Publication Date: March 31, 2017

Formats: Paperback & Kindle

Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Science Fiction, Colonization, First Contact



Catling, an aspirant of the Influencers’ Guild, learns to wield the power of the garden carved into her skin. Friends are fewer than enemies, and those who wished her dead now plot her failure. Sworn to the young queen, she enters the world of Elan-Sia where the powerful maneuver for control of the throne.

Amidst rising unrest in the south and increasing pressure from the seafaring Cull Tarr, the high wards of the tiers plot rebellion. Gannon stirs the warrens, and Whitt marches with the warriors of Guardian. Propelled by revenge, Catling journeys to Mur-Vallis. Her mission—to assassinate the man who stole her past, a task that will define her future.


The Oathbreakers’ Guild begins with the doyen examination of Catling, a new aspirant of the Influencers’ Guild, a secretive, closed society within Ellegean, who control the people of the tiers by flexing their power to manipulate emotions. Catling has an additional energy, the rose birthmark encircling her eye which also gives her the power to sever the influence that controls the people of the kingdom.

Now in her late teens, Catling wields this mysterious ability to invoke emotions between pleasure and pain, and life between healing and death. She remains a pawn in the hands of the Guild, told what to do at every step. As far as she can tell, she will never escape her destiny.

Her mentor, Vianne, sees a path of protection for Caitling where she can serve the young queen, Lelaine and shield her from the influence of the High Wardens. War is brewing and Caitling and her skills will be more in demand than ever before.

The characters from the first book return in this novel. As Caitling and Kaden’s skills grow they become more powerful, which creates another set of issues for the Guild. Whitt finds himself a soldier, still yearning for Caitling. Gannon reappears and becomes an asset to the Queen and Ellegeance. The lives of these characters continue to intertwine and intersect in the most magical ways.

There are numerous themes that thread their way through the novel. The use of the influence, like all magic, has consequences which Catling pushes to extreme limits as she breaks her oath to the Guild that controls her life. Revenge forces her to react which results in circumstances that will change her life forever.

And throughout the series, the mysterious luminescence which flows through the planet like it’s lifeblood swirls around the characters as if giving a vibrancy to their personalities. It’s pure magic!

D. Wallace Peach has once again created and added to a magical world that will enchant the reader. Her writing and descriptions are rich with the pureness of her imagination. Epic fantasy fans will rejoice in the impeccable world building filled with rich characters who deliver a few surprises of their own.

I can’t rave enough about this tetralogy. You will have to experience the magic yourself. It is fast becoming one of my all-time favorite book series. I dream about Ellegeance and these characters who have found their way into my heart. ❤


Character Believability: 5
Flow and Pace: 5
Reader Engagement: 5
Reader Enrichment: 5
Reader Enjoyment: 5
Overall Rate: 5 out of 5 Fairies


*I follow the Amazon Rating System*


Author, D. Wallace Peach

About the Author:

D. Wallace Peach started writing later in life after the kids were grown and a move left her with hours to fill. Years of working in business surrendered to a full-time indulgence in the imaginative world of books, and when she started writing, she was instantly hooked. Diana lives in a log cabin amongst the tall evergreens and emerald moss of Oregon’s Coastal Mountains with her husband, two dogs, and Pinky the Cat.

For book descriptions, excerpts, maps, and behind the scenes info, please visit http://dwallacepeachbooks.com.

For her blog on all things writing, please visit http://mythsofthemirror.com.

Ready for an adventure?

The Sorcerer’s Garden
The Bone Wall
The Melding of Aeris

The Rose Shield Tetralogy:
Catling’s Bane, Book I
Oathbreakers’ Guild, Book II
Farlanders’ Law, Book III
Kari’s Reckoning, Book IV

The Dragon Soul Saga:
Myths of the Mirror, Book I
Eye of Fire, Book II
Eye of Blind, Book III
Eye of Fire, Book IV

Grumpy Ana and the Grouchy Monsters: A Children’s Space Tale


How to Connect with the Author:

For her blog on all things writing, please visit http://mythsofthemirror.com.


FACEBOOK: Myths of the Mirror: @DWPeachbooks

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/dianapeach33/pins/


Witchey ReadsThanks for stopping by to meet D. Wallace Peach. This series is one of the best I’ve read in the epic fantasy genre. ❤

The Literary Diva's Library 1640x859

Are you looking for more great reads? Join author, D.G. Kaye, and myself in our Facebook group, The Literary Diva’s Library to find book reviews, book promotions, & special deals on books from authors you love.