Title: Farlander’s Law, The Rose Shield, Book III

Amazon Author Page: D. Wallace Peach

Publication Date: April 12, 2017

Formats: Paperback & Kindle

Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Science Fiction, Colonization, First Contact, New Adult & College


The Rose Shield Series


“Immune to influence, the Cull Tarr infiltrate the tier cities, and the Shiplord plies the queen for a bond that will cede her realm. Catling’s daughter, Rose, becomes collateral in a game of power, and the only way to save her is to lose her. Oathbreaker and lawbreaker, Catling rebels, and her power grows more deadly.

In the frozen lands of the Far Wolds, treaties collapse. Forced to choose sides, Whitt betrays his oath. Fugitives, he and young Rose traverse the realm and enter the rebel world of the Farlanders. The brief tranquility of their lives crumbles as Ellegean aggression escalates. Sent by the queen to broker a lasting peace, Gannon proposes a risky strategy—to win the battle for the Far Wolds, Whitt and the people he loves must lose the war.”

hand-307786_640My review of Book 1: Catling’s Bane

My review of Book 2: Oathbreaker’s Guild


After the birth of Rose, Catling struggles to balance her oath to the queen with the needs of her daughter. She hopes that if she fulfills her obligations without question, the queen will leave her and her daughter alone. But it’s not to be. Catling makes the decision to increase her power which places her in more peril than ever before.

Meanwhile, war is brewing, and the Cull Tarr will stop at nothing to take control of and govern Ellegeance. Catling and the Influencer’s Guild are tested past their limits. If they can survive the takeover they might be of use to the new rulers.  When it’s discovered that the Cull Tarr are unaffected by the influencer’s magic, the Influencer’s Guild members now become pawns in the hands of their captors.

After the Cull Tarr attack on Ellegeance, the provinces are ripped apart. The people in the lower tiers become slaves. Looking to expand their control, the High Ward authorizes his guards to forcibly evict the Farlander’s from their homes and businesses.

As the High Wardens expand their territories, the Cull Tarr way of life becomes the law of the land. That leaves the native people of the planet, the Farlander’s, embroiled in a war they didn’t ask to be part of. The Farlanders are ready to sacrifice their lives for the land they love.

No longer part of Catling’s life, Whitt has fallen in love with Sim, a Farlander he met when he was a child. Sim teaches Whitt the ways of the kari, the spirits of the land. Luminescence is the lifeblood of the planet connecting them to each other and the wilderness that surrounds them. Sim possesses the knowledge of kari magic and she uses it to their advantage.

Before long, Whitt understands that the planet is sentient, a force that holds more power than the humans can imagine. As the war rages on, the kari manipulate events to benefit the planet without regard to who might survive the human war.

This series has captured my heart. I find myself bewitched with the magic of the sentient planet and the luminescence that flows and links each of the books in the series to the other. D. Wallace Peach is a master storyteller weaving a tale of suspense filled with the enchantment of a far-off magical land. The characters are rich and multifaceted, often filled with surprises I didn’t see coming. They do not disappoint.

The next book in the series is Book IV – Kari’s Reckoning. In my emotionally connected status to this series, I feel the end of the saga approaching. Sadness grips me. I don’t want the magic to end. Stay tuned…


Character Believability: 5
Flow and Pace: 5
Reader Engagement: 5
Reader Enrichment: 5
Reader Enjoyment: 5
Overall Rate: 5 out of 5 Fairies


*I follow the Amazon Rating System*


Author, D. Wallace Peach

About the Author:

D. Wallace Peach started writing later in life after the kids were grown and a move left her with hours to fill. Years of working in business surrendered to a full-time indulgence in the imaginative world of books, and when she started writing, she was instantly hooked. Diana lives in a log cabin amongst the tall evergreens and emerald moss of Oregon’s Coastal Mountains with her husband, two dogs, and Pinky the Cat.

For book descriptions, excerpts, maps, and behind the scenes info, please visit http://dwallacepeachbooks.com.

For her blog on all things writing, please visit http://mythsofthemirror.com.

Ready for an adventure?

The Sorcerer’s Garden
The Bone Wall
The Melding of Aeris

The Rose Shield Tetralogy:
Catling’s Bane, Book I
Oathbreakers’ Guild, Book II
Farlanders’ Law, Book III
Kari’s Reckoning, Book IV

The Dragon Soul Saga:
Myths of the Mirror, Book I
Eye of Fire, Book II
Eye of Blind, Book III
Eye of Fire, Book IV

Grumpy Ana and the Grouchy Monsters: A Children’s Space Tale


How to Connect with the Author:

For her blog on all things writing, please visit D. Wallace Peach at http://mythsofthemirror.com.

TWITTER: @Dwallacepeach

FACEBOOK: Myths of the Mirror: @DWPeachbooks

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/dianapeach33/pins/
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/activities/d-wallace-peach+0_2F1UmSg–qRIqYJlk2W1Q_?trk=nav_responsive_sub_nav_yourupdates
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/101899993447765818692/posts


Witchey ReadsThanks for stopping by to meet D. Wallace Peach. This series is one of the best I’ve read in the epic fantasy genre. ❤

The Literary Diva's Library 1640x859

Are you looking for more great reads? Join author, D.G. Kaye, and myself in our Facebook group, The Literary Diva’s Library to find book reviews, book promotions, & special deals on books from authors you love.