book reviews

Title: Eye of Blind (Dragon Soul Quartet, Book 3)

Amazon Author Page: D. Wallace Peach

Publication Date: August 19, 2016

Formats: Paperback & Kindle

Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Fantasy, Sword & Sorcery, Epic Fantasy


In the epic sequel to Myths of the Mirror, the black-barred cells groan open and webbed wings sweep the sky. The dragons fly free of their bonds, as do the ruthless men who enslaved them. Armed with fresh power, Earlin leads the village of Taran Leigh in search of a new myth. Not all forgive their ruin at her hands, and fires blaze in retribution.

Driven by flames from the mountains of the Mirror, Conall and his skyriders descend on Taran Leigh, complicating Earlin’s life. Malice flows with the governors as they escape down the silver-green Argantael to the sea.

Across the western sea, those wielding authority discover new forces at play. A master of fear, Phelan plots for control, skimmers raid ports for grift, the wealthy hoard, and children starve.

Morgen, captain of the Seabourne, sails the archipelago without a care until visitors from the Mirror arrive and voices of conscience dare him to see. No longer can he ignore the desperately poor, the hunting of dragons, and the political manipulations that threaten to tear apart his home. Yet, he cannot save the islands alone.


Eye of Blind is the third book in the Dragon Soul Quartet by D. Wallace Peach. Please find my review of book two, Eye of Fire, HERE, and my review of book one, Myths of the Mirror, HERE.

myths of the mirror      eye of fire

Before I get into the heart of this book, I wanted to draw everyone’s attention to the artistry of the book covers in this series. Each book title refers to a Rune Stone which the Droom (the ancient healer) draws at the onset of the book which then sets the tone for the adventures that follow.

This third book weaves the characters and stories from Taran Leigh, with that of Mirror, spreading into the archipelago changing the paths and lives of all involved. From the Mirror, the spiritual psychology of “the belonging,” spreads throughout the lands. Once the magical merging occurs, the people are changed forever.

The dragons of Taran Leigh are finally free but not without significate damage to the village. Fires rage in protest, yet Earlin leads the village into a new time, where the old ways of the belonging are retaught to the sky riders. A new awakening has occurred and the people embrace the past with their future.

The governers flee to the sea looking for a quick escape. These men are propelled by their hunger for coin and power. Phelan, the brutal governor from Taran Leigh has a plan to further his power and control. He will stop at nothing to win.

The inhabitants of the Mirror have their own problems to deal with when a forest fire forces their hurried escape to the village of Taran Leigh. The villagers welcome the refugees with open arms willing to help the people recover.

Muriel’s friend, Gallard continues his travels to the islands with the intention of saving the dragons of the archipelago by spreading the meaning of the belonging.

Meanwhile, Morgan, the captain of the Seaborne, is introduced to visitors from the Mirror. When they share the stories of the dragons and the belonging, he suddenly realizes he must take a stand to help the people of the islands, where dragons are killed, and harvested for their bejeweled skins and sold for coin.

Eye of Blind reinforces the magical gifts of the belonging where man and dragon merge as one. The main theme that runs through this series is how the thirst for power and greed corrupts. It is the realization that the belonging defines a WAY of being in the world that precludes violence. The dragons are the link representing the inter-relatedness of all life.

D. Wallace Peach has created a memorable saga filled with how the myths of the people and the mystique of the dragons intertwine in representing the oneness of life. The characters are rich and multifaceted. I can’t get them out of my head, nor do I want to!


Character Believability: 5
Flow and Pace: 5
Reader Engagement: 5
Reader Enrichment: 5
Reader Enjoyment: 5
Overall Rate: 5 out of 5 Fairies

5 fairies

*I follow the Amazon Rating System*

Colleen's Book ReviewsRating System

About the Author:


Author, D. Wallace Peach

D. Wallace Peach started writing later in life after the kids were grown and a move left her with hours to fill. Years of working in business surrendered to a full-time indulgence in the imaginative world of books, and when she started writing, she was instantly hooked. Diana lives in a log cabin amongst the tall evergreens and emerald moss of Oregon’s Coastal Mountains with her husband, two dogs, and Pinky the Cat.

For book descriptions, excerpts, maps, and behind the scenes info, please visit

For her blog on all things writing, please visit

Ready for an adventure?

The Sorcerer’s Garden
The Bone Wall
The Melding of Aeris

The Rose Shield Tetralogy:
Catling’s Bane, Book I
Oathbreakers’ Guild, Book II
Farlanders’ Law, Book III
Kari’s Reckoning, Book IV

The Dragon Soul Saga:
Myths of the Mirror, Book I
Eye of Fire, Book II
Eye of Blind, Book III
Eye of Fire, Book IV

Grumpy Ana and the Grouchy Monsters: A Children’s Space Tale


For her blog on all things writing, please visit D. Wallace Peach at

TWITTER: @Dwallacepeach

FACEBOOK: Myths of the Mirror: @DWPeachbooks


bedtime readingThanks for stopping by to meet D. Wallace Peach. I read this series before bed and had the best dreams. I think you will too! ❤

The Literary Divas Library facebook

Are you looking for more great reads? Join author, D.G. Kaye, and myself in our Facebook group, The Literary Diva’s Library to find book reviews, book promotions, & special deals on books from authors you love.

come & join us

Don’t forget to join us in the #ABRSC, Author Blogger Rainbow Support Club on Facebook. See you there! ❤