book reviews

Title: Eye of Sun, (Dragon Soul Quartet, Book 4)

Amazon Author Page: D. Wallace Peach

Publication Date: 2nd edition (August 19, 2016)

Formats: Paperback & Kindle 

LINK to Four book Series (BEST VALUE)

Genres: Literature & Fiction, Sea Adventures, Fantasy, Action & Adventure



Provoked by Kearney and the hunters of Loughran, Phelan hires warriors from across the outland sea. Mercenaries from the Tradelands descend on the archipelago, brandishing fear as they execute the wicked vision of their masters. The Guild’s reprisals strike without remorse, sparing no one, Morgen least of all. Imprisoned once again in the Governors’ Hall, he awaits his death.

In the mountains of the Mirror, dragons return with the spring, impaled by arrows, wings torn to white bone. Bound to the dragons and the Belonging they embody, Conall and Torin fly for the islands of the western sea. Left behind in Taran Leigh, Treasa dreams of Conall’s death, her visions as certain as the change of moons.

In the epic conclusion of Eye of Sun, forces from both sides of the sea converge on the Arran Archipelago for a final reckoning. Skyriders of Taran Leigh and the Mirror join with the hunters of Loughran, Endellion archers, and daring skimmers for a last stand. The trap is set and not all will survive.

dragon soul quartet


Eye of Sun is the fourth and final book in the Dragon Soul Quartet. Please find my review of book three, Eye of Blind, HERE, book two, Eye of FireHERE, and my review of book one, Myths of the MirrorHERE.

Phelan, the evil governor who fled the wrath of the people of Taran Leigh in book one, has consolidated his power in the archipelago. His primary objective is to stop the skyriders from spreading the magic of the belonging to the people. The Guild decides the best way to control the problem is to kill the beloved dragons.

Warriors and mercenaries infiltrate the archipelago executing the people and the dragons. The hunters of Loughran fight the incursion suffering heavy losses. The slaughter is unforgivable.

At the mirror, dragons appear in the sky, injured and bloody, torn apart from the battles that rage in the islands. Conall and Torin have no choice but to fly to the western sea to see if they can put a stop to the butchery. They must save the dragons and preserve their magic.

All the pieces of the puzzle fall into place as the two sides line up for a battle of epic proportions. The skyriders of Taran Leigh link-up with the hunters from Loughran, while the Endellion archers and the seafaring skimmers join the rebellion against the Guild to save the dragons and the belonging.

The Dragon Soul series has risen to the top of my list for all-time favorite books in a fantasy series. This series is a haunting tale filled with resplendent dragons, exhilarating magic, and how the myths of the people and the dragons intertwine and intersect. Their myths become the allegory from where ancient enlightenment springs.

The author shared with me her role as the “Droom,” in the first novel, the ancient seer casting her rune stones to predict which direction the story would take. Read the post here to gain more insight into this author’s creativity.

If you read one fantasy series this year, make it this one. I know, I will read these books again, and again, welcoming the magic into my heart reminding me of the meaning of the belonging. Once you discover the truth, you will never forget!


Character Believability: 5
Flow and Pace: 5
Reader Engagement: 5
Reader Enrichment: 5
Reader Enjoyment: 5
Overall Rate: 5 out of 5 Fairies

5 fairies

*I follow the Amazon Rating System*

Colleen's Book ReviewsRating System


Author, D. Wallace Peach

D. Wallace Peach started writing later in life after the kids were grown and a move left her with hours to fill. Years of working in business surrendered to a full-time indulgence in the imaginative world of books, and when she started writing, she was instantly hooked. Diana lives in a log cabin amongst the tall evergreens and emerald moss of Oregon’s Coastal Mountains with her husband, two dogs, and Pinky the Cat.

For book descriptions, excerpts, maps, and behind the scenes info, please visit

For her blog on all things writing, please visit

Ready for an adventure?

The Sorcerer’s Garden
The Bone Wall
The Melding of Aeris

The Rose Shield Tetralogy:
Catling’s Bane, Book I
Oathbreakers’ Guild, Book II
Farlanders’ Law, Book III
Kari’s Reckoning, Book IV

The Dragon Soul Saga:
Myths of the Mirror, Book I
Eye of Fire, Book II
Eye of Blind, Book III
Eye of Fire, Book IV

Grumpy Ana and the Grouchy Monsters: A Children’s Space Tale


For her blog on all things writing, please visit D. Wallace Peach at

TWITTER: @Dwallacepeach

FACEBOOK: Myths of the Mirror: @DWPeachbooks


Yay! Read a book and find your own magic!

The Literary Divas Library facebook

Are you looking for more great reads? Join author, D.G. Kaye, and myself in our Facebook group, The Literary Diva’s Library to find book reviews, book promotions, & special deals on books from authors you love.

ASBRC may2018

Don’t forget to join us in the #ABRSC, Author Blogger Rainbow Support Club on Facebook. See you there! ❤