Colleen’s 2018 #Book #Reviews – “Thomas the Rhymer (Jack Hughes Trilogy Book 1),” by Author, Paul Andruss

book review logo

IN THE AUTHOR’S WORDS:

‘Fans of Harry Potter and Narnia will love Thomas the Rhymer’

‘Thomas the Rhymer leaves you feeling like a child curled up in a comfy armchair on a wet and windy afternoon, lost in a good book’

‘Spellbinding! An ideal Christmas read for young and old alike!’

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + +

When Fairy Queen Sylvie snatches his brother, schoolboy Jack is plunged into a sinister fantasy world of illusion and deception – the realm of telepathic fairies ruled by spoilt, arrogant fairy queens.

Haunted by nightmares about his brother and pursued by a mysterious tramp (only seen by Jack and his friends) Jack fears he too will be stolen away.

The tramp is Thomas the Rhymer, who only speaks in rhyme. Lost and frightened Thomas needs Jack’s help to find his way home.

The race is on for Jack and his friends to save Thomas from the wicked Agnes Day (who wants to treat Thomas like a lab rat). And save Jack’s brother from Sylvie.
To do this they need the help of Bess – the most ancient powerful fairy queen in the land.
But there is a problem… No one knows where Bess is… or even if she is still lives.
And even if they find her… will she let them go?

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + +

What’s been said about Thomas the Rhymer

“This is a terrific story, beautifully written with great imagination and gentle humour. The plot is well crafted and cleverly interweaves fantasy with reality. The momentum is maintained throughout the book, with action on every page. The human characters are solid and believable and the fairies are cleverly portrayed as being powerful while at the same time vulnerable”

“A real page-turner – full of excitement and wonder”

“The climax is absolutely brilliant, not only magic, imagery, spells, and incantations, but gives a feeling of real danger too. And there is a terrific sting in the tail”

“The story is written in such a way that it is easy for young readers to follow – without being patronising – while at the same time older lovers of fantasy will appreciate its subtlety, vividness, and comedy”

Find out more about Thomas the Rhymer @ http://www.jackhughesbooks.com/

Read Jack’s fairy poem @ http://www.jackhughesbooks.com/fairy-poem.php

Download Artwork Posters @ http://www.jackhughesbooks.com/wallpapers.php

Title: Thomas the Rhymer

Amazon Author Page: Paul Andruss

Publication Date: January 20, 2014

Formats: Paperback & Kindle

Genres: Teen & Young Adult, Fantasy, Coming of Age

Goodreads

MY RECOMMENDATION:

I stumbled across this book one day while reading a historical piece written by the author. He had included an image of this book cover at the bottom of his article which immediately drew my attention. This author often writes long historical dissertations so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I took a chance and purchased the Kindle edition. What a delightful surprise! I couldn’t put the book down!

What I found was a fantastic story about one of my favorite subjects, faeries! Not only was it geared to the YA genre, but it also included a fair amount of historical fact to make the story shine.

When Jack’s older brother Dan is abducted before his very eyes, he is stunned by the mysterious circumstances of his disappearance. The fact that Jack witnessed the strange abduction and doesn’t tell his parents only adds to his troubles. Jack’s mother is suffering from a chronic illness and his greatest hope is that the situation will rectify itself, and Dan will come home on his own.

One night, Jack starts receiving cell phone calls from Dan, and when he answers, there’s no one on the line. He tries to tell his parents and the police the truth about what happened, but every time he opens his mouth to speak, his throat closes up and he is unable to utter a single word. Faery glamours? Could be!

In the meantime, Jack starts seeing a dirty tramp hanging around his house who only speaks in rhyme. It becomes apparent that no one can see the tramp but Jack, so he enlists the help of his friends to help him solve the mystery behind his brother’s disappearance.

Jack and his friends are thrust into the magical world of the fey where the kids experience the light and the dark, of a failing faery kingdom. They learn about ley lines and how the fey evolved beside mankind. The story progresses with plenty of magic and suspense until you reach the satisfying end.

Let me just say, that this is one of the most creative books I have ever read about the fey. Jack’s friends are reminiscent of the characters in the Harry Potter series and I had no problem connecting with their personalities. The plot is brilliant, although I had a hard time separating fact from fiction. That’s what I call good writing!

I enjoyed this novel and will read it more than once. I feel children and adults of all ages will enjoy this book. Do you love magic and all things faery? Then, have a read because this book is reasonably priced and will keep you entertained for hours.

MY RATING:

Character Believability: 5
Flow and Pace: 5
Reader Engagement: 5
Reader Enrichment: 5
Reader Enjoyment: 5
Overall Rate: 5 out of 5 Faeries

5 fairies

*I follow the Amazon Rating System*

Colleen's Book ReviewsRating System

 

51xo484MR1L

About the Author:

Ever since being a child I was fascinated by the phantasmagorical and strange. Blessed with the type of mind that squirrels away peculiar facts, I supposed it was only natural these should become a central feature in my novels.

As I got older I often forgot where I found these oddities in the first place. Odds and Sods: A cabinet of Curiosities was born as an online notepad and sort of grew from there. Now it showcases the curious stuff I come across when researching my novels. I also get a tremendous kick from sharing it with friends.

The blog includes stories from science, history, myth, miracles, occult objects & fabulous beasts.  Sample Posts:  History – Bonfire of the Vanities / Myth – Philemon & Baucis / Miracles – The Lady at Lourdes / Occult Objects – The Turin ShroudFabulous Beasts – The Horse Cock / Science – Alma (Are Neanderthals still alive?)

I am a guest Writer in Residence on ‘Smorgasbord- Variety is the Spice of Life’ where you can enjoy exclusive extra articles: Still Waving – the poet Stevie Smith / Marc Bolan’s Millions / Who were the Proto-Indo-Europeans?The Truth of the Cottingley Fairies / Venus in Furs & Justine in Tears- De Sade & Masoch / Rosabelle Believe – Did Houdini return from the dead?

Why don’t you subscribe to both?

social media tree-200795_640

How to Connect with the Author:

Blog: Odds n Sods: A cabinet of curiosities – Paul Andruss.com

Facebook Author Page: (Paul George Boylan) https://www.facebook.com/paul.andruss.9

Twitter: https://twitter.com/paul_jhbooks

Colleen This book is FAERY #RECOMMENDED!

Follow-me-on-Bookbub-300X121-300x121 If you have your book listed on BookBub, I will add my review there also! ❤ Click HERE to follow me! (Colleen M. Chesebro) Let me know in the comments.

The Literary Diva's Library

Are you looking for more great reads? Join author, D.G. Kaye, and myself in our Facebook group, The Literary Diva’s Library to find book reviews, book promotions, & special deals on books from authors you love.

ASBRC may2018

Don’t forget to join us in the #ABRSC, Author Blogger Rainbow Support Club on Facebook. See you there! ❤

Posted by

Colleen M. Chesebro is an author of paranormal fantasy and magical realism, cross-genre fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. She loves all things magical which may mean that she could be experiencing her second childhood – or not. That part of her life hasn’t been fully decided yet. A few years ago, a mystical experience led her to renew her passion for writing and storytelling. These days she resides in the fantasy realm of the Fairy Whisperer where she writes the magical poetry and stories that the fairy nymphs whisper to her in her dreams. Colleen lives in Colorado with her husband. When she is not writing, she enjoys spending time with her husband. She also loves gardening, reading, and crocheting old-fashioned doilies into works of art. You can learn more about Colleen at www.colleenchesebro.com.

51 thoughts on “Colleen’s 2018 #Book #Reviews – “Thomas the Rhymer (Jack Hughes Trilogy Book 1),” by Author, Paul Andruss

      1. Dear Colleen, there are 2 sequels written. I am editing Thomas at present (as over the past few years I have become technicaly stronger). Then will start editing the 2nd and 3 books the daughters of Albion and the Thirteenth Treasure. The Daughters of Albion centre around the idea of a mystical link passed down mothe to daughter. the daughters of Albion arethe personification of the hopes and fears of the women of britain dating back to ancient times and the collected souls of al lthe ancient fairy queens. The Thirteenth treasure is based on Ancient British mythology. According to the ancient triads of Britain there were 12 sacred treasures that held the spirit of the land. who ever could gather them would become the sacred high king (or in this case the high queen of the fairy realm) and bring in a period of spiritual peace. The thirteenth treasure is the one that holds a lthe scattered treasures together. I cannot tell you what is is but suffice to say it will come as a massive shock when you read it. I am hoping Daughters will be ready Late January and 13th Treasure will follow soon after. There is a taster of the upcoming books here
        http://www.jackhughesbooks.com/daughters-of-albion.php
        http://www.jackhughesbooks.com/thirteenth-treasure.php
        I am so thrilled you liked the book so much
        Paul X

        Liked by 1 person

Please note that when you visit, like, comment on, and share my blog posts, you are agreeing with the storage and handling of your data by WordPress. Please read the privacy statement in the above menu. Namaste & Blessed Be!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.