Celebrating Lughnasadh, or Lammas

Happy Lughnasadh! Celebrate the harvest. ❤

The Sisters of the Fey

I follow the Wheel of the Year Wiccan (Celtic) Sabbats which celebrate the eternal circle of life – birth, death, and rebirth. These holidays mix well with my Buddhist path and also that of Faery Wicca.

There are eight Sabbats, and they follow the changing seasons of our year always in sync with nature. This cycle represents the continuing saga of life, death, and rebirth of the god and the fertility of the goddess.

Agriculture figures prominently in this calendar with the four major festivals of Samhain, Imbolc, Beltane, and Lughnasadh (Lammas). The minor Sabbats include the solar festivals of the equinoxes and solstices, Yule, Ostara, Litha, and Mabon.

The midpoint of the four seasons is where I celebrate the major Sabbats. The beginning of each season is when I celebrate the minor Sabbats.

Our next festival occurs on August 2nd and is called…

View original post 891 more words